Shogun Bikes

18May09

ShogunInterestingly, the top searches for this blog relate to Shogun Bikes. Why? I presume because I’ve mentioned mine in several posts. So here goes… I picked up a relatively intact Shogun 500 about a year and a half ago at the local Salvation Army. I’d never had any sort of road bike before (I come from the BMX, then mountain bike world), but thought for the price ($27), why not give it a shot?

Turns out I liked it. A lot.

Shimano Deore 1982 Here’s what I know about Shogun Bikes, or at least my Shogun 500: Shogun bikes were imported from Japan by Seattle Bike Supply. I know of Shogun mountain bikes, but can’t confirm if they’re from the same manufacturer or not. Searching via Google has turned up bikes from as early as the 60’s, but it looks like the brand was the most common in the early to late 80’s.

The components place my bike at 1982 or so, with the Deore “Touring Ensemble” stock (yes before Deore made the jump to btn bikes).

The Shogun 500 is made of Tange Champion #5. From what I can gather, Tange at that time (early 80’s) graded the CroMo tubing from #1 to #5, with #1 being the thinnest and lightest, as well as butted. #5 obviously, is the heaviest of the bunch, with straight gauge walls.

Digging around through Bike Forums is your best bet for further info on the brand.

ShogunAs for my bike, while functional, most of the components were worn out at best, so I went about rebuilding it to suit my purposes. Rather than pure roadie, I set it up “Rivendell style”. More of a “do everything” bike that I could ride light dirt, longer road riding (did a two day, 160 mile tour last summer), commuting–you get the point.

Aside from the frame, headset, and brake calipers, I ended up replacing everything. Nixed the drops for the Nitto Mustache bars. Went with a Shimano LX drive train with bar-end shifters, Sugino XD2 triple cranks, and capped it off with a Brooks Flyer saddle. Also converted from 27″ to 700c with burly rims and Shimano XT hubs. Probably poured way too much money into it, but what can you do?

Maybe I’ll go with a fancier frame someday, but for now I can’t wait to get out on my next ride.

3 Responses to “Shogun Bikes”

  1. 1 Paul

    I bought a Shogun back in 1981 and raced it for 4 years. 27 inch wheels. The magic part was the equipment: Dura ace everthing……… the whole groupset including the headset, quill head stem and seat stem. It has hardly been ridden in the rain, but it is still time to give it a paint. Headset and cranks havn’t been apart yet and all runs sweet. I use it a bit more now again when I go on rides with slow friends.
    I am debating colours at the moments. At present is dark blue. I did a conversion on it back in 1982 to make it a seven speed before shimano came out with the 7 speed. It was pretty simple, made the spacers thinner just like they do today. What are we up too now ……11speed.

  2. 2 glenn

    Great fitout, very well considered. Did you have to reset the rear fork to accommodate the XT hub? It’d be 135mm yes? and the frame spacing would have been 126mm?

  3. 3 Brent Shultz

    @glenn, you’re absolutely correct, the spacing was 126mm. I followed instructions via Sheldon Brown to “cold set” the frame. Seems scary at first thought, but was one of the more simple things to do.

    Full article on on “cold setting”:

    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/frame-spacing.html


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

