Thoughts on Winter Bike Commuting

03Mar08

DIY Mud Flap on the GreenIt looks like winter is winding down here. Sure, there will be plenty more snow days (it’s snowing as I type), but the bulk of accumulation in the valley bottom is either gone down stream or collected in one of those nice big puddles I have to navigate.

I keep meaning to type up some updates, but this time of year the only bike related activities are riding back and forth to work, running errands, and looking over maps scheming up this summer’s rides. Not the most interesting thing to type about, admittedly.

ShogunI did get out on the Shogun and ride the Airport/Foy’s Lake loop yesterday (my earliest first of the season “ride”). Pretty routine ride when one is in Summer shape, but hot-damn if it didn’t just kick my ass. I guess that’s to be expected when one rides a whopping 6 miles to work and back on the flat. But can I really complain? I don’t know that I’ve ever even been on a bike in March since I moved up here.

Random stats for February:

  1. 1. I bought gas exactly one time, in the neighborhood of 1o gals.
  2. I rode 132 miles.
  3. Biked to work 71% of the time. (Only drove 6 days!)
  4. People do indeed think I’m crazy.
  5. Most importantly, once you get the swing of it, it’s not even a big deal. I was rarely cold, and hell, I was keeping active.
No Responses Yet to “Thoughts on Winter Bike Commuting”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

